I wanted to write a post that introduced myself and Dylan, describing a little about who we are and our lives so that anyone reading this blog has a little bit of an idea about where we are coming from. That said, the idea of sitting around and writing out what is essentially a biography felt a little egotistical so I decided that instead, Dylan and I can introduce each other and talk a little about our dynamic from our own perspectives.  Dylan and I have been dating for 3.5 years now, so it’s safe to say that we know each other pretty well, especially after living together for close to a year. Below you will find a brief description of who we are, but written from the opposite partners perspective.

So without further ado, introducing Dylan…

Dylan is a 31 year old human who identifies as gender neutral. They grew up on the Central Coast in NSW, Australia, but as soon as they were able to afford it moved to the comforting hive of diversity that is the Inner West in Sydney.  Dylan studied social work and is currently doing exceptional social work in their position as manager.
Dylan is a fiery and passionate human who lives their life with the highest of moral standards and uses this to promote social justice both amongst their colleagues as well as friends and family. I have absolutely no doubt that Dylan will make significant waves in the social work community in the years to come as they power up the leadership ladder and continue to inspire all of their colleagues.

Dylan is an excellent judge of character and will often surprise me with some very astute observations after we have been socialising. Nothing gets past them. And that means that my occasional attempts at passive aggressive behaviour when I’m annoyed (it happens to everyone right?!) fall completely flat. This, combined with my inability to keep my feelings to myself, means we are, thankfully, forced into a very open and honest relationship. This has become especially true over the last year as we have navigated Dylan’s transition, both individually and as a couple.

Dylan is the perfect partner and I feel very lucky to have them. They have a lot of love to give, are exceptionally supportive, intelligent and funny. Together we make a great team as we balance each other out and, even more importantly, enjoy being with each other.

And introducing me, Emma….

Emma is a 29 year old woman of many talents. I have had the privilege of getting to know her over the last three and a half years and can truly say she is the best person you’ll ever meet. Emma is probably the most intelligent person I have encountered also.

She is incredibly well read, well traveled and a true adventurer. When we first started going out I described Em to my friends as an over achiever. She had achieved more at 25 than most achieve in a lifetime; Two degrees from the Sydney Conservatorium of Music (including a Masters thesis I read before our first date after stalking Em online), a Masters in Teaching and a year abroad at the Royal Academy of Music in London. She is a brilliant musician and every time I hear her play clarinet I fall more and more in love with her.

Emma is balanced and considered in her approach to everything in her life. Occasionally her pragmatism conflicts with my slow and unstructured approach to some things, including my transition. This has been a source of frustration for both of us. But, thankfully, Em’s steadfast approach to ensuring I communicate with her has minimised the impact.

So, while Em ticks all of my boxes of hopes and dreams in an ideal partner, it is her unconditional love and acceptance that I adore most.